The National Medical Commission (NMC) has recently made appointments for the posts of Central Public Information Officer and the First Appellate Authority for its autonomous boards and the commission.

These officers have been appointed under Section 9(1) and under Section 19(1) of the Right to Information Act, 2005, with immediate effect.

The newly appointed PIOs are Dr Vijayendra Kumar, Dr Vijay Oza, Dr G. Suryanarayana Raju and Dr Yogender Malik, who are already the members of the Under-Graduate Medical Education Board (UGMEB), Post-Graduate Medical Education Board (PGMEB), Medical Assessment and Rating Board, and Ethics & Medical Registration Board respectively.

On the other hand, the Presidents of these boards- Dr Aruna V. Vanikar (UGMEB), Dr M.K. Ramesh (PGMEB), Dr B.N. Gangadhar (MARB), and Dr Achal Gulati (Ethics & Medical Registration Board) have been appointed as the First Appellate Authority.

Meanwhile, the Under Secretary of NMC, Shri Rajeev Kumar has been appointed as the PIO at NMC, whereas the Sr. Consultant Shri. N.Raja has got the designation as the First Appellate at the medical education regulatory body.

Under the RTI Act, the CPIOs are responsible for providing information to a person who seeks information under the RTI Act in respect of subject matters mentioned against their names.

On the other hand, Sub-section (8) of Section 7 of the RTI Act provides that where a request for information is rejected, the Public Information Officer communicates the particulars of the Appellate Authority to the person making the request. The First Appellate Authority, who is an officer senior in rank, is responsible for publishing particulars of a Public authority along with the particulars of the Public Information Officers. In other words, the role of the First Appellate Authority is to consider and dispose of the First Appeals in respect of subject matters designated to them.

S.No.Name of Board/ DivisionName of CPIOName of First Appellate
1.Under-Graduate Medical Education BoardDr.Vijayendra Kumar, MemberDr. Aruna V. Vanikar President
2.Post-Graduate Medical Education BoardDr. Vijay Oza, MemberDr. M.K. Ramesh, President
3.Medical Assessment and Rating BoardDr. G. Suryanarayana Raju, MemberDr. B.N. Gangadhar, President
4.Ethics & Medical Registration BoardDr. Yogender Malik, MemberDr. Achal Gulati, President
5.National Medical CommissionShri Rajeev Kumar, Under SecretaryShri. N.Raja, Sr. Consultant

The NMC’s four Autonomous Boards: Under-Graduate Medical Education Board, Post-Graduate Medical Education Board, Medical Assessment and Rating Board and Ethics and Medical Registration Board to oversee UG/ PG education, accreditation and assessment and the matters related to ethics and professional conduct of doctors.

The key functions of the NMC will be further streamlining regulations, rating of institutions, HR assessment, focus on research. Besides they will work on modalities of the common final year exam after MBBS (NEXT- National Exit Test) to serve for both registration and PG entrance; prepare guidelines for fee regulation by private medical colleges; and developing standards for Community Health Providers to serve in primary healthcare with limited practicing licence.

NMC Appoints Public Information Officers, First Appellate Authority
Scroll to top